Just $19.95 Plus State Certification Fee*
ENTER “VA$5OFF” CODE IN SHOPPING CART
Important: This course is not for individuals who are required to complete a defensive driving course under the supervision of an ASAP office. If you are enrolled in / supervised by the ASAP system, do not register for this course; contact your local ASAP to be directed to the appropriate course.
Welcome to our Virginia Computer-Based Training (CBT) Driver Improvement Course! When you attend a driver improvement clinic, you will learn defensive driving techniques that can help you avoid and prevent crashes. This program is based on the belief that people have the power to change their behavior if they have the motivation and tools to do so. The online driver improvement course and final test must be completed through a DMV-licensed CBT driver improvement clinic. No paper test required.
One of the educational components of CBT is a defensive driving course available to volunteers or to those who have been mandated to attend by a Virginia court or the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.
There are many reasons for attending a Driver Improvement Course. During enrollment, you must select the reason you are taking the course. Reasons to complete this course include:
National Safety Council is not responsible for drivers completing the incorrect program. After clicking New Student, please verify your information is correct on the registration screen before proceeding to take the course.
For all drivers required by the VA DMV to complete a driver improvement course, and those with a VA driver’s license completing the course to satisfy a Court order or on a voluntary basis, National Safety Council will electronically submit your completion information to VA DMV and it will be posted to your driving record within 24 business hours of the completion date of the course. NSC will even email you an official VA DMV certificate of completion 24 business hours following your successful course completion.
In the state of Virginia, many students are required to turn in a certificate to the court and may have to appear in court. It is your responsibility to determine if your court accepts this online driver improvement course to satisfy a court-required driver improvement course. Customers directed by the Court must provide documentation from the court before safe driving points can be awarded. Contact the DMV if you have questions. The DMV standardized certificate, “Online Driver Improvement Clinic Certificate of Completion (DIC 552B)” is the only document that will be accepted by the Department and the Courts as proof of completion of an online driver improvement course. If the certificate is presented to DMV, it must be printed on 8½” x 11” plain white bonded paper. DMV will not accept certificates printed on color or special designed paper or paper with any form of advertisement on the front or back of the certificate. DMV will not accept any certificates that have been altered in any way.
For driver’s that don’t qualify for the official VA DMV certificate, a National Safety Council completion certificate will be mailed to you for your personal records. This certificate may also be used as proof of completion for court-required drivers with licenses issued by a state other than Virginia. Please allow 7 – 10 business days after course completion to receive your certificate.
DMV is committed to promoting transportation safety through the certification of quality driver training programs. If you have comments or concerns about this course, call our toll-free number: 1-877-885-5790.
Additional Course Information:
The CBT Driver Improvement Course delivers content based on eight-hour course, including the final test, and is designed to rehabilitate problem drivers. The course must be completed in its entirety prior to the issuance of a certificate of completion. To benefit from the course, you must be able to work independently and be comfortable with using a computer. Student identification will be verified through-out training and prior to taking the final test to ensure that the person taking the course is the same person taking the final test.
Call (800) 775-1484 or email [email protected] for National Safety Council online technical support.
Hours of operation:
Phone Support: 8 AM – 6 PM ET
Email support: available until 7:30 PM
Phone Support: 9 AM – 4 PM ET
Email Support: available until 7:30 PM
Email support only
For other questions, please contact [email protected]
*$15.00 State Certification Fee applies. The State Certification Fee includes fees for the electronic transmittal of your completion to the VA DMV and issuance of your official certificate of completion.