Drivers ages 15 to 24 who have received two violations within 24 months, or who received a violation under the Zero Tolerance Law, are required by the State of Illinois to complete the Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education Course as a condition for reinstatement of driver’s license or permit following suspension.
You may be ordered by the court to take the NSC driver safety course, Alive at 25. You can also take the course voluntarily if your parents want you to, to obtain a parking pass at school, etc.
Drivers ages 21 and older who have had their license suspended for three months or less for being convicted of three moving violations in 12 months are notified by the Secretary of State of their eligibility for the Probationary License Program.
Upon successfully completing the program requirements, drivers will receive a probationary license from the Secretary of State for use during the suspension period. Any additional reported convictions may affect your eligibility to obtain or retain your probationary license. Also, CDL drivers will be issued a Probationary License for their personal vehicle only. CDL drivers are prohibited from operating any and all commercial vehicles while under suspension.
NSC Illinois Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education Program engages you in our simple and fun defensive driving techniques through our Alive at 25 curriculum. Alive at 25 is a highly interactive four-hour intervention program that zeroes in on drivers ages 16 to 25 – the group most likely to be involved in a fatal collision. Alive at 25 Driver Safety Course uses workbook exercises, group discussions, role-playing and short lectures to help keep young drivers safe on the road.
A driver under age 21, who is convicted of two or more moving violations within a 24-month period, will have his/her driver’s license suspended for a minimum of 30 days. The length of the suspension varies according to the seriousness of the traffic offenses. A driver may be required to complete a Driver Remedial Education Course as part of reinstatement of driving privileges. This information will be indicated on the suspension notice.
This mandatory requirement for reinstatement of your driving privileges is your participation in an approved Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education course. Failure to attend and complete this course will prohibit the reinstatement of your driving privileges.
If you are required by the State of Illinois to complete the course, the Illinois Secretary of State Driver Services Department will mail you a notification letter.
There are TWO requirements for the Probationary License Program:
National Safety Council electronically transmits your class completion information to the Illinois Secretary of State the very next business day following receipt of your valid IL driver’s license AND your successful class completion.
The class is 8 hours in length. The program is aimed at changing behavior behind the wheel. Through this course, drivers learn why they continue to have driving related problems and how they can take responsibility for their actions.
The National Safety Council is America’s leading nonprofit safety advocate – and has been for over 100 years. As a mission-based organization, we focus on eliminating the leading causes of preventable death so people can live their fullest lives. We focus our efforts where we can make the greatest impact: workplace, roadway and impairment.